Sweet relief

So my friend Nicola is getting married!  She’s a great admirer of the well-designed, all things pretty and anything crafty. So as you can imagine she has some marvelous plans on how to create her wedding invitations and needed a bit of assistance from me on the sewing front.

So what better way to spend your Sunday arvo than helping a mate with a bit of a project.  I’ve never taught anyone to sew before so it’s new for me too. But she’s a pretty good student so it’s great!

Armed with a pile of stuff Nic came on over for lunch with sewing lesson #2 set to follow.  For anyone who loves kransky’s we had some for lunch, smothered in lots of mayo and hickory sauce and whacked into ciabatta with rocket – mmmmm yum!

All of the 20 odd stitches on my trusty Janome were explored with Nic extending her skills and having something at the end of the day ready to take home to show her fella Lindsay.

To reward her for being so studious I’d made a gingerbread treacle cake which has a super lemony butter icing.  Check it out!

Leave a comment